Skip to main content

Office of Student Veterans

Home Info For Students Veterans People and Places

People and Places

Please see below for contact information of individuals, student organizations, and campus/community partners of the veteran community.

Faculty and Staff

  1. Michael Gustafson
    Associate Professor of the Practice for Electrical and Computer Engineering
    mrg@duke.edu
  1. Amanda Laird
    Associate Director, Executive MBA Programs
    amanda.laird@duke.edu

  2. Steve Misuraca
    Assistant Dean
    spm10@duke.edu
  1. Alan Kendrick
    Assistant Dean for Graduate Student Development
    alan.kendrick@duke.edu
  1. Dean Taylor
    M.D., Professor, Faculty, Surgeon, Fellowship Director, Leadership Program Director School of Medicine
    dean.taylor@duke.edu
  1. Abby Dillard
    Physical Therapist
    abby.dillard@duke.edu

  2. Lindsay Ballengee
    Physical Therapist
    lindsay.ballengee@duke.edu
  1. Barbara Turner
    Professor of Nursing; Chair of the Health of Women, Children, and Families Division
    barbara.turner@duke.edu

  2. Denise William
    Computing Facilities Specialist
    denise.williams3@duke.edu
  1. Major General Charles Dunlap
    Executive Director Center on Law, Ethics and National Security
    dunlap@law.duke.edu
  1. Peter Feaver
    Professor of Political Science and Public Policy
    peter.feaver@duke.edu

  2. Paul A. Dillon
    Adjunct Instructor
    paul.dillon@duke.edu
  1. Milton Blackmon
    Academic Dean
    Milton.blackmon@duke.edu
  1. Clay Adams
    Vice Dean of Students
    clay.adams@duke.edu

  2. Randy Garcia
    Assistant Director of Leadership Giving
    Randy.garcia@duke.edu

  3. Lisa Adams
    Ph.D., Clinical Director for Counseling and Psychological Services
    lisa.adams3@duke.edu

  4. Tom Szigethy
    Associate Dean and Director of DuWell
    ts86@duke.edu

Campus and Community Partners

Provides Individual Counseling, Group Counseling, Couples Counseling, Student Group Outreach

Located: Duke Student Wellness Center, West Campus

Contact: Lisa Adams - lisa.adams3@duke.edu

Care, Coaching, Guiding Proactive Wellness Choices, Assisting with Health Needs, Nutrition.

Located: Duke Student Wellness Center, West Campus

Contact: Tom Szigethy - thomas.szigethy@duke.edu

Gym, Physical Education, Fitness Classes, Aquatics, Intramurals, Sports Clubs, Outdoor Activities

Located: Wilson Rec Center, West Campus

Contact: dukerec@gmail.com

Provide Counsel to Veterans and Families on Federal/State/Local Government Benefits

Location: 414 E. Main Street, 1st Floor, Durham, NC 27701

Contact: Jonathan Crooms - jtcrooms@dconc.gov

Health Care, Benefits/Loans, Burials/Memorials

Location: 508 Fulton Street, Durham, NC 27705

Contact: alan.kendrick@duke.edu

Schedules, Tuition, Benefits, VA File Creation and Certification

Location: 1211 W. Main Street, Suite1200, Durham, NC 27701

Contact: Julie Ahouse - veteranseducation@duke.edu

Establish Academic Adjustments and Auxiliary Aids and Services for Students with Disabilities

Location: 705 Broad Street, Box 90142, Durham, NC. 27708

Contact: sdao@duke.edu

Liaison to Administration, Social Events, Advocacy Events, Support to Veterans/Military Personnel and Families, Networking

Location: Crowell Building, Ground Floor (Garden Level), East Campus

Contact: veterans@studentaffairs.duke.edu

Student Organizations

The Fuqua School of Business based DAFA exist to: 

Build - Empower future generations of DAFA by identifying, developing, and assisting high caliber veteran applicants through the application process.

Prepare - Prepare members for recruiting by providing a network of top-tier employers and veteran alumni and through interview preparation.

Mentor - Advise and assist transitioning service members on matters concerning the VA, GI Bill, reserves etc.

Serve - Continued service through engagement, sharing perspectives, and volunteering within Fuqua, Duke, and Triangle area communities.

Website: The Duke Armed Forces Association 

Contact: Co-Presidents

  1. Julianne Dahlman - julianne.dahlman@duke.edu
  2. Adam Davis - adam.m.davis@duke.edu

Sanford Veterans Association (SVA) fosters a supportive community for active duty, national guard, reserve, retired, and separated service members at the Sanford School of Public Policy. The SVA supports prospective, current, and alumni members in admissions, academics, navigating policy focus, career development, and life in Durham.

Website: Duke Sanford Veterans

The council meets once a semester to engage in discourse about opportunities for growth and engagement for the military community within Duke at-large. 

We discuss past and future veterans events, various initiatives in the Office of Student Veterans and student veteran organizations, and ways in which student veteran organizations can better engage with and serve the community.

These meetings are open to all interested military-affiliated students.

Please email us to add yourself to the list and be included in future Student Veteran Leadership Council meetings.