About the HRL Team

Living Housing HRL Team

Housing and Residence Life (HRL) manages all aspects of the university’s three-year undergraduate residency requirement. Residential programs are designed to build positive communities that value learning, create new opportunities for faculty engagement, and generate positive social connections. HRL, student residents, and others in the Duke community develop and maintain environments that support classroom learning and stir students to seek learning opportunities in the world around them. We promote opportunities for students to connect with others and develop a strong and enduring sense of belonging; and intentionally provide opportunities for students to grow and develop, especially as they wrestle with issues of identity, autonomy and responsibility. HRL programs are rooted in the concepts of mutual respect and civility, and recognize and celebrate the dignity and self-worth of all members.

HRL also manages the facilities operations of all university student residences, which comprise approximately 25 percent of all university space. These responsibilities include all long-range planning, renovations and major projects, managing housekeeping and maintenance efforts, and ensuring that all residence options are safe, secure, comfortable, and well-maintained.

Since 2019, HRL has collaborated with DuWell, CAPS, the Center for Muslim Life, the Neurodiversity Working Group, Duke Chapel, and Religious Life to gather information about the prayer, meditation, wellness, and sensory spaces on campus. While many of the spaces' hours and accessibility has been modified due to COVID-19, many are still available for students, staff, and faculty to use. You can view the interactive map here.

Our Team Members

East Campus, Swift, & Apartments

Residence Life - East Campus Housing Office & Apartments
108/109 HRL Office Southgate
1400 West Main Street
Box 90776
Phone: 919-684-5320
rlhs-east@duke.edu

Dr. Brandin Howard, Associate Dean for Residence Life, East Campus
brandin.howard@duke.edu
Phone: 919-684-5320

Ameshia Daniels, Staff Assistant
Phone: 919-684-5320
ameshia.daniels@duke.edu

Vacant, Staff Assistant

Swift Housing Office
300 Swift Ave
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: 919-684-5908
rlhs-eastswift@duke.edu

Mark Benzick, Staff Assistant
Phone: 919-613-3787
mark.benzick@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Adam Coshal
Phone: 919-684-5320
adam.coshal@duke.edu

Assistant Residence Coordinator, Giles and Wilson: Adrienne Jones
Phone: 919-668-1083
adrienne.jones@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Ashley Costantino
Phone: 919-684-5320
Ashley.costantino@duke.edu

Assistant Residence Coordinator, Alspaugh and Brown: Alicia Wolverton
Phone: 919-668-1068
alicia.wolverton@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Anaija Lapaix
Phone: 919-668-1096
anaija.lapaix@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Colin McLaughlin
Phone: 919-684-0484
colin.mclaughlin@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Alex Rosenbery
Phone: 919-684-5320
alexis.rosenbery@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Thomas Studnicky
Fax: 919-682-8453
thomas.studnicky@duke.edu

West Campus

D110, House D, Craven Quad Archway
440 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: 919-684-5486
upperclasscampus@duke.edu

Dani Harmston, Associate Dean for Residence Life, West Campus
Phone: 919-684-5486
dani.harmston@duke.edu

Meghan Flynn, Staff Assistant
919-684-5486
upperclasscampus@duke.edu

Judy Rigsbee, Staff Assistant
919-684-5486
upperclasscampus@duke.edu

Nicole Smith, Staff Assistant
919-684-5486
upperclasscampus@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Kerstin (Kas) Bryant
kerstin.bryant@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Carson Flynn
carson.flynn@duke.edu

Assistant Residence Coordinator, Crowell Quad (G,BB,CC): Brittany Long
brittany.long@duke.edu

Assistant Residence Coordinator, Crowell Quad (H,DD, EE): Katie Distefano
kathryn.distefano@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Jordan Buie
jordan.buie@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Zari Wilson 
zari.wilson@duke.edu

*Sophomore Class Council Advisor*

Residence Coordinator: Jessica Sharpe
jessica.sharpe@duke.edu

Residence Coordinator: Jill Solomon
jillian.solomon@duke.edu

Assistant Residence Coordinator, Wannamaker Quad: Luke Mears
lucas.mears@duke.edu