Skip to main content

Julie Anne Levey Memorial Leadership Award

Home Leadership experiences Julie Anne Levey Memorial Leadership Award

julie anne levey portraitJulie Anne Levey graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Comparative Area Studies and a Bachelor of Arts in History as part of the Class of 1993 from Duke University. During her time at Duke, Julie participated in Focus and was on the Dean's List. She was active in student life including serving as a Tour Guide through the Office of Admissions, worked on project Head Start, fund raised for The Annual Fund, and worked in the Office of the Public Defender in Durham. After graduation, Julie was employed by Arthur Andersen & Company in their Washington, DC office for two years prior to her enrollment at NYU School of Law. In 1996, Julie passed away suddenly from a massive aneurysm.

The experiences, education and lasting relationships that Julie realized during her four years at Duke were a significant part of her life and helped her establish and reinforce the foundation upon which she built her life and moved forward.

The Levey family--Lewis, Leslee, Jon, Stephen, and Stephanie--honors Julie with the Julie Anne Levey Memorial Award Program.

Julie Anne Levey Memorial Award

The Julie Anne Levey Memorial Award was established in 1997. The primary mission of the program is to sponsor an event to entertain, educate, stimulate thought and discussion, and generally enhance the experience of first-year students at Duke University. The Julie Anne Levey Memorial Award is presented to an emerging leader in the first-year class who has demonstrated a dedication to the first-year residential experience and the Duke community through leadership in co-curricular activities and who demonstrated initiative, creativity, and a clear commitment to making a difference in the lives of his/her peers.

Award Nominations

All faculty, staff, and students are welcome to submit a nomination for a first-year student leader. The recipient will be honored with a one-time scholarship of $1,500 to be awarded for the student’s sophomore year, invitation to brunch with current and previous award winners, and will receive recognition at the In The Spotlight Awards ceremony. Nominations should be in the form of a letter and outline specific reasons how the student nominated is a deserving recipient. The most successful nomination letters include examples that illustrate the nominee's involvement in the community.  Nominees will be notified and asked to submit a personal statement outlining their leadership, initiative, and commitment to service. 

Nominations for 2024 Recipients opens February 14, 2024. Any member of the Duke University community may submit a nomination for consideration. Individuals wishing to nominate a first-year student for the Level Memorial Scholarship should submit their letter online via the Scholarship Nomination Form by 5:00 pm on March 6, 2024.

Past Recipients of the Julie Anne Levey Memorial Leadership Award

2023:  Michaela Arietti (Milano, Italy)

2022: Neil Upreti, Coppell, TX
           Viktoria Wulff-Andersen, Danbury, CT
           Chloe Decker, Murphy, NC 

2021: Nicole Rosenzweig (Rye Brook, NY)
           Alanna Manfredini (Mosman, Australia)

2020: Lana Gesinsky (New York City, NY)

2019: Catherine McMillian (Charlotte, NC)
           Joyce Huang (Morganville, NJ)
           Carlee Goldberg (Parkland, FL)

2018: Alex Gara (Budapest, Hungary)

2017: Maryam Asenuga (Rhode Island)

2016: Omar Khan (Lahore, Pakistan)

2015: Luke Duchemin (Hockessin, DE)
           Aishu Ramamurthi (Aurora, CO)
           Priya Sarkar (Glen Allen, VA)
           Amir Williams (Raleigh, NC)

2014: Hala Daou (Clearwater, FL)

2013: Jay Sullivan (Fairfield, CT)

2012: Lucase Metropulos (Boca Raton, FL)
           Christine Schindler (Fairfax, VA)

2011: Dan Stefanus (St. Louis, MO)

2010: Rob Van Dusen (Boulder, CO)

2009: Betsy Klein (Charlotte, NC)

2008: Alex Reese (Grayslake, IL)

2007: Catalina Blanco (Pembroke Pines, FL)

2006: Samson Mesele (Charlotte, NC)

2005: Chris Hopper (Cary, NC)

2004: Karthik Balasubramanian (Cincinnati, OH)

2003: Laura Dilly (Inverness, IL)

2002: Natalie Centeno (Miami, FL)

2001: Mark Pike (Virginia Beach, VA)

2000: Chikwere Nduagba Amachi

1999: Jonelle Grant (Rembert, SC)